Blogging Against Disablism Day

Please participate on May 1 to raise awareness about disability issues and the impact of disablism/ableism.

Blogging Against Disablism Day, May 1st 2007

SUPPLIES POND MEDIA from Big Als Aquarium Services Clicking on the banner will take you to Goldfish’s blog. She started Blogging Against Disablism Day last year, and I’m grateful she’s continuing such a great idea. Guidelines for participating are available on her site.

My personal request: I hope that more able-bodied people will participate this year. There’s a lot of great work being done by disability activists, but really, who should be involved in addressing and attacking disablism more than those with able-bodied privilege? I promise we don’t bite-it’s a very friendly group.

4 responses to “Blogging Against Disablism Day

  1. Speaking from Virginia, this would be a very good time for people without disabilities to participate in blogging against disablism.

  2. hymes-That’s an excellent point, though I have to say I’d like to see all the people, who talked so freely about mental illness causing the tragedy, to step up and do some blogging against disablism.

    Actually, I’d be happy if they’d just read some of the posts.

  3. I’m so flustered as to what I should write. Argh

  4. Burrow-It’s a really broad carnival-you can write about your own experience, or things that pissed you off-how you or people you know were treated badly, you can write about what it’s like to have an invisible illness.

    Um, I don’t think I’m helping, sorry!

Leave a comment