Cymbalta Sucks Ass; Eli Lilly Executives Are Asses!

Dear Executives at Eli Lilly:

Your product, Cymbalta, sucks ass and should not be promoted for human consumption. You know which product I’m referring to, don’t you? The same drug that you’re pushing off-label as an effective remedy for pain? You really shouldn’t be doing that when you have no credible evidence to support your argument.

I know there are people who have been helped by Cymbalta. For a month or two, I was helped by Cymbalta-it actually reduced the muscle pain of fibromyalgia. But then it stopped working, COSTUMES SEXY from Costume SuperCenter like antidepressants often do. I’m sure you will point out that some people manage to discontinue Cymbalta without withdrawal symptoms. Guess what? Some people jump from very high places and survive! These people are in the minority, and do not make an effective argument for your wonderfully harmful medication. Don’t just don’t even try it.

Remember how you tried to use legal measures to prevent doctors from warning their patients of the dangers and risks of Cymbalta? Remember how you’ve pushed your other drugs, Prozac, Zyprexa, and that other one I’m too foggy-headed to remember, in the same greedy way? Your only concern has ever been for making as much money as possible, while not caring how many people are harmed or killed by your drugs. Oh, you must laugh over those great memories!

I apologize that I’m not including tons of references* to back up my claims, as your lack of regard for clinical evidence is one of the things I despise most about you. But you see, I am very, very dizzy today, and the computer screen doesn’t seem to be holding still! Each page change makes the dizziness worse, so I’m not wanting to (gulp) surf the web today. Given that I’m nauseated, I also don’t want to up the fun by adding vomiting to my list of withdrawal symptoms, you dogshit pusbags.

The good news is that decreasing and stopping Cymbalta has caused my blood pressure to return to levels compatible with human life. My doctors NEVER warned me about the risk of high blood pressure when I started Cymbalta. Now, I wonder why that could be? Especially since they insisted on taking my blood pressure every time I went to see them. Oh, well, I’m sure high blood pressure couldn’t cause any health problems!

Your friend,
spotted elephant

*For more information on Cymbalta, Eli Lilly, and evil pharmaceutical companies, see Philip’s site Furious Seasons and Cl Psych’s blog, a site of a much longer name, but I need to lie down. Anyway, by not including them in the letter, I’m hoping that Eli Lilly lawyers will only come after me.

Doesn’t lying down make dizziness worse? Anyone have home remedies for dizziness?

47 responses to “Cymbalta Sucks Ass; Eli Lilly Executives Are Asses!

  1. I love me a good We Lie Lilly rant. More importantly, a positive sign that you are focused on the task at hand: your overall wellness.

    Stay strong. It sucks but you are doing beautifully.

    Zyprexa being the stick in my craw when it comes to them. All I got from my doc was “no, Zyprexa does not cause weight gain, maybe it’s the Paxil you started eons ago” when I waddled in 50 lbs heavier 14 weeks after starting Zyprexa in early 2000. Never did a blood sugar on me to check for hypoglycemia or trust my words and his own freakin’ eyes. Was he a lying sack who treated me like a liar, or an uninformed pill pusher who treated me like a liar?

    Either way, after many meds and many years I realized that I knew what was going on with various meds and big pharma more than he did (or admitted to), and really if I were top keep putting up with that load of shit then maybe I really WAS sick.

    Stopping was, for me, proof of my sanity.

    Dizziness – for me it’s no sudden movements at all – it’s best to move very little, close your eyes, and open the windows or otherwise find cool, fresh air.

  2. “We Lie Lilly” almost made me choke on my rice-but in a good way.

    Zyprexa doesn’t cause weight gain? Oh, I’m sorry to hear you went through that-plus the complete disregard for your ability to have information that might be relevant to your care.

    Thanks for the suggestions on dizziness-it’s one of my least favorite symptoms.

  3. This is you on fire!! I love this rage. keep it up. I also really like the new look. As for dizziness, I can only agree with manxome, small head movements. Keep looking down, not straight ahead. Try dark glasses too, the light makes things worse sometimes. Keep going, I’m with you in spirit. x

  4. (((((SE))))

    I am so sorry that you are dealing with this right now, and I have to say you are eloquent in your fury – that letter was awesome.

    Since you can’t “surf” right now, I am doing research for you. (Takes my mind off my own crap 🙂 ). So far I have found a lot of people commiserating about their Cymbalta withdrawal symptoms, so it appears you are in no way alone.

    For dizzyness, some people have reported success with 25mg of Benadryl, which is similar to Dramamine I guess. One self-described “doctor” said she would ask her Doc for a low dose of Clonodine, which is used to help peeps with heroin withdrawal symptoms and might help because Cymbalta withdrawal is fucking with your parasympathetic nervous system.

    From my own personal experience, I spent a lot of time in the bath with lots of sea salt and epsom salts and generous amounts of whatever essential oils smelled good to me at the time. I also drank a lot of water and Recharge and slept a lot.

    I know it’s hard for you to get out, but if you can do it, a visit to the Naturopath at Rainbow Remedies on Cap Hill has always helped me. Whenever I’ve had a drug interaction or had to switch meds or even when I quit breastfeeding and felt like I was having a breakdown I went in there, described my situation and symptoms and they put together an herbal tea or infusion that really helped. And for so little money – the consult is free and the tea was like 5 bucks and was always more than enough to get me through.

    I hope you feel better soon.

    Nice job redecorating too, I love it!

    ~Allison

  5. Thanks Pippa!

    Beansa-I love you. Thanks so much for looking this stuff up. Manxome is also researching for me, as I need to be lying down, or in the bathroom. Oops-tmi. I really appreciate you doing this.

  6. Ouch. I think most of us have an SSRI that’s our kryptonite…those docs sure found mine. If it’s not working, that must mean we should increase the dose, right?

  7. Oh Spotted Ele, you are doing so well to speak the rage while feeling so …. thinking of you during this time.
    I don’t know the trade name of the drug in the UK that you are referring to, but Seroxat was a bastard to someone I know, and a friend had awful problems of huge weight gain of 80 lbs with Mirtazapine (Remeron ?).
    So, keep on keeping on. Rage is good.

  8. The dizziness and stomach trouble was always the worst for me as well. Ive removed Prozac, Zyprexa, Trazedone and most recently Seroquel which was [horrific and hell] awful. Today is the first day Ive not been dizzy in so long I forgot what it’s like.
    Hang in there, as far as dizzy treatments: for me it was not getting up too fast, and sitting still. Basically just no fun eh. I love your subject title. THAT speaks volumes. Eli Lilly scum bags, I hope they read this.
    Take care,
    Stephany

  9. I’m in awe at all of you, and your willpower and determination shine through, as does your anger. Having four drugs to consider stopping over the next few years (yes, that’s a few of my years you’ve f*****d up with your shit meds thanks UK psychs) I am especially frustrated that I managed my condition in my pure state, then went into crisis, had a breakdown and am currently on awful stuff making my health worse. I am heartened by what you say on blood pressure. Maybe things start to right themselves as you make progress. Keep it up. Stay with your blog and your friends for support.
    Dizziness: slightly elevated legs if lying down, near an open window for fresh air. Small sips water, often. Rememer to stay hydrated in all this.

  10. Dear spotted elephant,
    I’ve been thinking about you. I’ve been out of the loop…off traveling to take care of dad.

    I just checked in today.

    Hang in there and try to slow down if you feel too sick. I’ve successfully come off Effexor and Zoloft in minute doses and really didn’t suffer too much. And I did start off going too quickly…got really, really sick, reinstated a bit, then cut down super slow.

    Anyway, like I said I’m thinking of you. Stay healthy and let us know how you’re doing.

  11. Hi SE,
    I nominated you with a Thinking Blogger award:) hope you are hanging in there.–Stephany

  12. Hey SE, the feeling’s mutual. I’m still surfing about, looking for any info that might be of help. Seems like everyone suffers withdrawal symptoms and no one knows how to help, unless they’re trying to sell you expensive herbal supplements, then you can be cured in 7 days or less!

    Are you feeling any better?

    I’ll be sending good energy in your direction.

  13. Hey SE, the feeling’s mutual.

    Hmmm…I was going to say something else, but I got detected by the duplicate comment detector!

    Damm.

  14. Take care SE and I am thinking of you.
    x

  15. I was wondering how you are doing as well with the med withdrawal?–hope you are okay.–stephany

  16. I went through this with Effexor several years ago, and damn if it wasn’t so bad that I can’t even remember what I did to get out of the withdrawal and off the meds completely. I think Cymbalta is related to Effexor (SSNRI?), so if you’re up to it, search Effexor withdrawal; I found a lot of people in the same boat and a lot of good suggestions. The only thing I can remember doing that may or may not have helped –I swear I lost some of my memory capacity from that damn drug– was taking EFA supplements. Oh yeah, now that I reread Beansa’s comment, Dramamine, too.

    I am so f’n angry that Cymbalta ever made it to the market. People committed suicide during the trials, FFS. Take care, and I hope your withdrawal passes quickly. Mine went on for many months.

  17. Powerful piece! I was on seven psychotropics a day for over a year back in the day and have been drug free since November ’06. These drugs, man, some kind of baptism in fire. I’m pulling for you.

  18. Hi, I came across your blog and spent about 25 minutes here. It really touched me. I am in awe of you. You are a tremendous inspiration.

  19. Hey SE, just checking in to see how you’re doing.

  20. Thank you everyone-for your kind remarks, Sorry I haven’t responded sooner. Tomorrow marks the end of the second week of all of this-withdrawal supposedly takes 1-2 weeks. Mm-hmm.

    I’m here, I’m coping, but I’m not happy. If I could maintain consistent progress instead of one improved day just being a practical joke, then I’d be happy. I really appreciate how supportive everyone has been.

  21. hola amiga. i’ve been missing you and bumble. i hope things start looking up for you soon. you are a strong, brave woman and i admire your coping ability. truly. hope you’re able to enjoy the weekend. here’s to tomorrow being a consistent, satisfying day!
    xoxo, jared

  22. Oh my goodness S.E. 😦 I am so sorry you have been going through this. I have been through drug withdrawal from antidepressants before and… it is really horrid but **does** end. I know you can do it!!

    I am sending you my very best wishes.

    Take care,

  23. I stumbled across your blog. Those meds are so hard to deal with, and worse to get off of–been there, done that. I completely understand and relate. My family is not even close to “getting” what it’s like to go on these drugs, let alone get off of them. Simple, mundane tasks that they take for granted, mindlessly performing on a daily basis, are near-impossible for people like us, especially on these meds. They are incredibly expensive as well–definitely a moneymaker.

    By the way, I LOVE your bunny image. I am a rabbit advocate and am working on running a sanctuary soon. Check out my site for bunny videos, info, etc., as well as a link to my online store, full of bunny products you might like. Bunnies rule.

    Take care.

  24. Manxome, my 10 year old twins were put on Zyprexa specifically for weight gain as they are very thin and small. It worked; they were constantly hungry, often complaining that they didn’t want to eat anymore, but couldn’t stop themselves. But the SIDE EFFECTS!!! They became unhappy little dimpled creatures…and I do mean creatures: they were uncontrollable, uncaring, wild beasts. That is until I realized it was the drug and stopped it. Thank GOD they were not on it long. This Lilly company…and the doctors who prescribe the meds without knowing all the side effects, and the parents (me) who give them to their kids…well shame on me for not doing my homework, but shame on them for hiding theirs. Figures they make Cymbalta also… I have spent far too many hours online researching the effects of both of these drugs – and neither are safe. Scary shit.

  25. Cymbalta Sucks. My wife started taking Cymbalta around four months ago for depression and at first it helped. She did have side effects like weird tastes and dry mouth along with weight loss and headaches and the typical other side effects from putting crap in your body. She uped her dose to 60 mg and things started to change. She was tired and groggy more and trying to wake up in the mornings was becoming very difficult, it seemed like she was literally on drugs and could not open her eyes. Her behavior started to change and it was as if I was begining to live with a stranger. We have been married for 14 years and she has never lied to me that I am aware of but one day I found a pack of cigarettes in her purse. She has never smoked since we have been married. She said she just decided one dah hum I want a cigarette. She lied to me several times after this saying she quit. Her moods became very apathetic and she stopped going to church and caring much about anything. Her sex drive was diminished drastically. She developed a taste for breath mints and was putting several in her mouth at one time and I found her to be inhaling vicks inhalers because she said she liked the smell. She developed an exclusive taste for bourbon and started drinking every night of the week almost. Bourbon only. She was drinking to the point of throwing up and blacking out. She has never done this in the time we have been married. We finally started talking about all this and she confided in me that she was begining to have what she called serious thoughts about dying. She also told me that she was at the point that if she had the money and a place to stay that she was ready to leave our mrriage. Again we have been married 14 years and I know this women and this behavior was very out of the ordinary for her. At this point she talked to a friend of hers who said she took an anti depressent once nd it caused changes in her behavior so she stopped taking it. This is the point at which my wife decided to stop taking Cymbalta. She read about the withdrawl symptoms and decided it was worth the witdrawls to stop Cymbalta. Cymbalta sucks and needs to be pulled from the market. It is not safe and is being pushed for the sake of making a buck since anti-depressents are the most prescribed med in the country now.

  26. excellent post – I have gone through the Cymbalta withdrawals myself and I also blogged about it on my site http://www.whatwinnersdo.com My post generated quite a response, I have hundreds of comments from people just like us suffering through this withdrawal they were never warned about.

    I have started and online petition directed towards Eli Lilly if anyone is interested the URL is http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/Cymbalta1/ I urge everyone to sign it

    Thanks
    Erin

  27. I HATE Cymbalta!!! It has cost me a divorce from a wonderful man who was my husband and best friend for 25 years. My children don’t trust me and are living with him. This drug almost caused me to commit sucide and cost me even more my family!!!! I want to warn all others of this!!!

  28. Try Exercise. I only do 30 min. on the treadmill, but sweat like crazy.
    I’ve been off for 7 days now, after tapering down for three months.
    Benadryl helps. Sleeping a lot at night helps. Massage (ask for deep tissue), drink lots of water. My next plan is to try a cleanse, and see an accupuncturist. I will get this out of my system. I can do this. I am patient with myself for now, and don’t try to do too much…ask for help….oh, and have a good cry. I just got back from a movie, which i cried the whole way through…..get rid of the toxins, and try not to add anymore in. Eat lots of fresh foods. Take care

  29. Victims speak out!

    I too am withdrawing from cymbalta. After reading literally hundreds of posts, forums, blogs about the subject of coming off of cymbalta I came to my own conclusion to taper off rather quickly because everyone, no matter how slowly they taper experience withdrawl symptoms. I have been on 60mg a day for over 3 years. I went to 30mg for a week and then zero. I am on day 7 of zero cymbalta and have brainzaps, stomach upset, can only sleep for 2 hours or so at a time and when I do sleep I have very lucid/vivid dreams. Sweating a lot at night. I am taking Omega-3 and B-12 everyday. The brain zaps are getting a little les severe already. I do not have to give you the details of all the symptoms but in short.. Personally FOR ME I have decided to just get it over with and get it out of my system. I am not a doctor and am not trying to give advice to ANYONE. I am just posting my little story here along with everyone else.

    THIS DRUG NEEDS to be OFF THE MARKET. PERIOD. As well as most of the anti-depressants.

  30. Hello!

    I was put on Valium at ’13’ due to what I now know to be panic attacks and anorexia. I was diagnosed with both, including depression, but never felt depressed, just ill. Since then ()I am now 47!) I have been prescribed just about every nasty toxic pill there is. There has never been one that I have been able to tolerate.

    Everytime it was hell!!! Doctors and Psychiatrists never listened to what I was saying. I was ill – physically. I wanted/needed help. It cost me a divorce, behaving like a crazy person, more anorexia, cry for help suicide attempts and a choice to live a life without drugs.

    Finally, I was diagnosed with C.F.S. and Fibromyalgia, I was actually so happy to have found the cause after so many years!! (I wonder if the meds had anything to do with my illness?) But although I am aware there is not a ‘cure’ yet, I carried on taking prescribed medication, more of the same. After all the years’ of taking meds you do ‘believe’ the medics and think “Oh Well, I obviously need it….it has honestly ruined my life in every area and I am so sad.

    In February ’09 I some how found the money to pay for private treatment in the hope that life could be made a little easier – instead I was taken off Citalopram, far too quickly, but would they listen, no! I was put on Cymbalta,with the promise of pain relief, improved mood and sleep, who could resist?! I felt so ill that I ended up on 120mg, they added Clonazepam along side the valium and Zolpidem. Told me to take more codeine and some other weird pain med, until I spent 4 lost days – hallucinating and feeling like I couldn’t wake up from a ‘trip’ The only person who actually gave me the time of day was a very helpful Pharmacist, who went out of her way big time. She and I came to the same conclusion, valium for over 30 yrs not a good thing and to be on so many meds at once was the icing on the drug company’s giant very expensive cake!!

    Back again to the Prof,(I really assumed he would know what was best!?) But along with all the other so called medical profession didn’t take into account my medical history, didn’t seem particularly concerned at what I had to say, only wanted to put me straight on to a Dopamine Agonist, I told him that I had already tried one and it made me very poorly… and send another invoice! 14 mins of his time all for £150!!!

    I have been off Cymbalta for 2 weeks now and still the withdrawal hell continues, almost as if I am still taking it! I have made things worse by stopping the Clonazepam, reducing the valium a little. As for the C.F.S. and Fibro, well it is worse than it has ever been and if I hadn’t been able to find various forums packed with so many people going through the same, I don’t know what I would have done.

    I am not going to take another antidepressant and I hope to get off valium some how? But how do the medical profession be made to face the reality of what they prescribe and the drug comps must be made to be more honest. There should also be a proper contingency plan to help us withdraw safely. I rang a Drug Line and was told that I would have more support if I were withdrawing from cocaine or something similar? I can see why drug addiction is so difficult and emphasise with anyone, not matter what drug they take, legal or not.

    A naive question…but why does everything always have to boil down to money? What is the point of any GP taking a vow of care to their patients? They lie by omission, we deserve to know the facts. (I do however realise that for some, these drugs have been the only answer to their problems)

    I have recently asked so many questions, I feel I am fairly well informed, which they must be aware of, yet still they lie’, avoid explanation of what I am going through and in doing so cause further upset and fear! I am scared!

    Does anyone know where I could find help in withdrawing from Diazepam?

    Also, I continue to have VIVID/FRIGHTENING dreams that really do seem as if I am in my very own movie, but can’t press ‘stop’ I am sweating, but icy cold at the same time, every little bit of exertion kills me. My BP is nowmally low eg. 103/63 but is now 140/67 – I took it myself and also a Pharmacist took it. I rang my GP who didn’t even consider it worth checking. Why? Throughout the nightmare of the last 4 months despite asking for my bloods to be checked, they refuse. Why? I even offered to pay. Has any one had similar effects? I am still getting the brain zaps which really hurt, brain and eye conection is way out! There are so many.!!

    All the other effects still much the same, but I suppose having been continually on these meds except for about 4 years when I had my daughter, I have been in continual withdrawal. I can’t help wondering how life could have been?

    What really is so hard to understand is that those close to me don’t seem to want to. It hurts so much. My husband said earlier that no one would want to live with some one ill like me…..how charming. Like I have/had a choice. He has some potentionally serious health problems, but refuses to deal with them. I have really tried to support him and find the answers. What I would give to be able to sort myself out as easily as he could?!!

    Well that’s me done, I could go on and on…..the language would be a lot worse I can tell you.

    I wish for you all what I wish for myself to have a chance to have a life, less pain, more understanding and to do some of the ordinary day to day things that so many take for granted. I never will again!

    Thanks for the sharing, without which I can’t imagine getting through this on my own!!!

    Sally

  31. Yep Cymbalta does suck and so does Lily! They don’t care about people just money. That’s the facts! These drugs kill and don’t make people better, it’s all lies! There is no physical proof that they work.

  32. Ahh the never ending evils of anti depressants. I think thats why I started her on wordpress actually. I got so depressed I stopped talking and started typing. come a long way since then but I still have many things to sort out in my life. I KNOW anti depressants will never help me. Plus I dont want any drug company that makes these nasty things to get a cent from me… Unfortunatly they probably do because Im still on pain meds and anti anxiety (Benzos which I have an awareness of it’s uses and side effects)
    Nice to read your writing S.Elephant,
    Peace,
    Night worrier

  33. *here* on wordpress

  34. Former cymbalta user

    Cymbalta will kill you. It is a very dangerous medication. I was on it for only 14 days. I experienced profuse sweating, electrical brain zaps, memory problems, couldn’t sleep at all, and suicidal ideation. I truly believe I would have been dead if I continued this medicine. The brain zaps were scarry. I would just doze off and be zapped awake. It happened like 20 times in a night over and over again. I cannot believe this medicine is on the market. It proves that psychiatry and the drug companies will go to any lengths to make money. Doctors don’t care about you. They only care about making money off of you. I do not trust psychiatry at all anymore. I am going back to a natural approach. I have never suffered like this from a drug before in my entire life. I am warning everyone about this medicine.

    • Former cymbalta user, you’re scaring me! I’ve been using this shit for a little more than a week, I’ve had dizziness, belly ache, diarrhea, insomnia…

      Before that, I’ve had Celexa, it wasn’t better… I’ve had Remeron and I was sleeping everywhere… I’ve lost count of the medications I’ve had. I tried without, but I’ve fallen back into depression and insomnia…

      If your doctor prescribe you cymbalta, just say no 😉

  35. My doctor started me on this three days ago, at 60 mg once a day. Have not slept more than three hours at a time since then. Feel like the top of my head is buzzing,, sort of like when you take a powerful sinus pill or Nyquil type drug,, just uncomfortable in your own skin. Hands are a little jittery,,, plan to throw out the rest of the samples he gave me. Cymbalta just gave me a very uncomfortable feeling,, and while the samples were free,, I see the cost of this drug is very expensive.( Does this ring a bell?) I would not recommend it to anyone .

  36. Dear Eli Lilly,

    Mother fuck you, you dirty fucking cocksuckers for creating this bullshit fucking drug you call Cymbalta (but which I affectionately refer to as Lucifer). I’ve been trying to get off Lucifer for a few weeks now and holy Christ what a fucking party that is. Apparently Lilly was hoping we would all take the drug until we all fucking die and therefore wouldn’t notice the horrible withdrawal effects associated with discontinuing its usage. I started at 60 mg, my depression got better. After about 6 mos to 9 mos later, the drug stops working, my depression is back. The side effects of the drug, which were tolerable when the fucking thing actually worked, are now annoying. I tell the doc I want to get off the drug- she says, “Why not try 90 mg?” I told her, as politely as possible, to go fuck herself, and she wrote me a script for 30 mg. That’s fine – but try getting off the fucking 30 mg, your body won’t let you do it. Now I’m cutting up 30 mg tablets in half (they don’t make a lower dosage) like some kind of asshole crackhead just so I’m not constantly dizzy and generally feeling like shit warmed over.

    In conclusion, Eli Liily, fuck you now and in the year after.

    Love,

    – OhRatts

    • Try 20 mg capsules. They don’t recommend breaking them open either.

      Also if your body can stand two weeks off. I tried SAMe several months later (I didn’t know about it at the time I stopped cymbalta) and it helped ease the feelings of fatigue, vertigo etc. I experienced several good months on it until I came down with something else that docs have been unable to tell me what it is.

      Start SAMe at 200 mg daily first week. Then 200 mg twice a day second week. I worked myself up to 400 mg three times a day. It worked better than paxil, lexapro, zoloft, abilify, geodon, lithium etc.

      Anyone else experience terrible shakiness on lithium? The 1st week on lithium is great. Someone could tell you terrible news–your bf breaking up with you etc. —and you’d have a big smile on your face.
      What else were you taking with cymbalta–they don’t just prescribe cymbalta for bipolar?

  37. Today’s psychiatric care leaves a bad taste in the mouth. Physicians have figured out how to be better physicians in every other field of medicine, but the mysteries of the mind have eluded them. I thought it was ridiculous when I was in school learning the pharmacology of the drugs. I remembered everyone in my family who has taken psychotropic drugs starting in the 1950’s and how it affected their lives for the worse. It made me feel like a fraud for selling medications at my pharmacy window. It also made me think of the word “cupidity.” At first, the word sounds benign or even adorable. Think Cupid or cupie doll. But cupidity means something quite different. Same thing with modern day psychiatry. I thought they were going to fix my mind–push me onto the straight and narrow path. Instead, they pushed me off a cliff. Bon voyage!!

    It was bad enough when a professor of my school asked me my last year of school if I still thought lithium would not be a good idea. How did he know that my psychiatrist had wanted to start me on lithium 4 years prior? I never filled the prescription or went back to the psychiatrist. What made him think that I needed lithium? What erratic behaviors did he observe? I learned about bipolar disorder during my undergraduate years. It sounded like one of the roller coaster rides near my parents’ house, The Beast. It starts off pretty scary with a drop down a monster hill that leads to a tunnel. When would I be leaving this underground tunnel? This nightmare tunnel in which everyone except me had a say in my medical care. At least, I wasn’t the naked woman being treated with electroconvulsive therapy on the table. When she rolled to one side during the procedure, her gown rolled off, and they joked that she sexually wanted that physician (spin the bottle style I guess). It’s too bad the ECT didn’t cause her to evacuate her bowels at that moment. Physicians plan ahead for that sort of thing.

    Next thing I found myself in the hospital. The pysch ward is a curious beast. the physicians always try to upset you to see how badly you will react. If you start screaming, then you are “crazy”–I’m sorry “psychotic” is what they say. Take for instance the fun mirror. In the bathroom of one psych ward there is a fun mirror. It disfigures the image to make it look wavy. Suddenly, three hips appear. I suppose if I started screaming, then they would have admitted me right away. Instead, I checked out the mirror and made a funny face. Then, they tried to tell me that brother had tried to call me and that he couldn’t pick me up. I called him back, and he said that he hadn’t tried to call me. I knew I had to leave quickly. I was reminded of the time that I worked there 3 years prior. A man with a gown came to the window and asked me to point the way to the exit. He looked pale and gaunt as though someone had tortured him somewhere. I pointed to the left. Maybe I should have pointed to the right–back to the hospital. The exit was to the left.

    Another pysch ward was showing that movie where Glenn Close tries to kill Michael Douglas–Fatal Attraction. For some reason, pyschiatrist love this movie. (Psychiatrists love movies in general, apprently.) It’s the perfect portrayal of the borderline personality disorder. Somehow it seemed inappropriate to be playing in the psych ward where people go because they aren’t feeling well. Do you show someone with a broken leg that twisted movie with Clint Eastwood as a Civil War vet? Are most psychiatric professionals tone deaf? Or masochistic?

    I didn’t start Cymbalta until I failed 4 SSRI’s a couple of years later. It worked fantastically at first. I felt energized at all hours. I volunteered to stay late at work and finish all the work no one wanted to do–and I wasn’t tired at the end of the day!!! Fan-freaking-tastic. I loved my life until the same BS that plagued me in 2 other jobs started happening again at this last workplace. The girls were making fun of me again?! Poltergeist?! What was going on? Was I really crazy this time?

    No apparently I wasn’t crazy. But I did quit the Cymbalta cold turkey. I was sorry for about 2 weeks. Then I was starting to feel better when someone close to me wanted me to restart it 2 months later. Do not ever do this!!!! I took the Cymbalta for 3 days, and my body completely shut down. I wouldn’t take it anymore after that as I read that my symptoms were consistent with serotonin syndrome. Sweating, lethargy, extremely terrible leg pains, heart palpitations, the worst headache ever(Ok now I’ve had worse but then no). Somehow I managed to walk to the elementary school where I was volunteering in a reading group 6 days later. I thought I was going to die (right-sided pain in my abdomen), so I called my parents to take me back.

    For the next six months, I couldn’t eat more than a bowl of cereal at a time without wanting to vomit. My breasts shrank?! I missed 3 periods. I wasn’t pregnant. Thank God. I admitted myself back to another psych ward and begged them to start me on something. I would even restart the Cymbalta. Instead, the nurse ripped off my shirt. Took an ECG. They started me on Geodon. I knew from the moment of the ECG they were going to start me on it. Yes, I was psychotic, so what would be wrong with an antipsychotic? I took my first dose an hour before bedtime. As I was drifitng to sleep, I felt a wave of nausea creep over me. I decided to get up and tell them at the desk. They always say to ring the bell, but I wanted to tell them at the desk to make sure they got the message. I couldn’t walk back to my room without help. My Blood pressure had plummeted to extremely low and potentially life threatening. 7 or 8 people rushed into my room and they started IV saline. My bp started to climb. The nurse stayed by my side for another hour or so. I eventually fell asleep.

    The next morning I was so shaky. I could eat maybe two or three bites of breakfast. I told them that tonight they could pretreat me with the saline before my dose. To my surprise, they responded that they wouldn’t recommend starting me on the Geodon again. I was relieved. Sorry for not going to the follow-up appointments. They were even free. Sometimes free isn’t always good.

    I never re-started Cymbalta. But every time that one of the commercials airs it’s a reminder of a painful event in my life that altered my life for the worse.

    Currently, my symptoms are strange pain originating at the crown of the head. It’s like a pin prick sensation. It tingles all the way down my spine. It also hurts on two spots along my neck. I also taste metal and have two points under my tongue where it feels like someone stabbing me with an extremely thin needle. Has anyone who has taken Cymbalta experienced similar symptoms? My physician told me to apply for disability. No one can tell me what’s wrong. I stopped the supplement I was taking called SAMe. It was working wonders for about 6 months minus the jitters and nausea I had on the Cymbalta. I called the supplement company and they claim my symptoms are inconsistent with their product. Eli Lilly has also denied wrongdoing.

    I would like to see the studies that show how medications that alter dopamine/norepinephrine are markedly different from illegal drugs. They currently don’t have to prove that do they? As long as the structure is different, they are completely different entities. Black and white. Well this panda would like to disagree with the authorities.

  38. “Another pysch ward was showing that movie where Glenn Close tries to kill Michael Douglas–Fatal Attraction. For some reason, pyschiatrist love this movie. (Psychiatrists love movies in general, apprently.) It’s the perfect portrayal of the borderline personality disorder. Somehow it seemed inappropriate to be playing in the psych ward where people go because they aren’t feeling well. Do you show someone with a broken leg that twisted movie with Clint Eastwood as a Civil War vet? Are most psychiatric professionals tone deaf? Or masochistic?”

    Sorry I meant to use “sadistic” above. Hopefully you will still believe my story even though I used the wrong word. I do not adhere to the beliefs of the originator of this thread, but I have shared similar emotions.

  39. I have applied since 2007 to at least 50-100 positions in my old profession in health care. I have been unable to find suitable employment despite numerous openings in the field. The side effects I described were unrelated to withdrawal from cymbalta although those symptoms were indeed unpleasant. (I dealt with withdrawal from paxil, and cymbalta withdrawal is much worse.) I still experience daily nausea and fatigue. And I even acknowledge that medications have risks.

    I resent the response I received from Eli Lilly–blaming me. No follow-up. Is that health care? Is this reality? Sometimes I really don’t know. I have $320,000 in lost wages. Where’s my payment? Where’s my follow-up?

    God bless the mentally ill b/c God knows no one on the earth really cares.

  40. And, no, selling cymbalta would not be a suitable job for me. Neither would selling psychiatric medications to the mentally ill. I hope everyone can understand that I firmly disagree with the medical establishment on the care of psychiatric illnesses. If I had a PhD and no nausea/jiggling in my head I would love to prove my hypothesis. Unfortunately, I need to nap for 2 hours almost every day just to make it. I don’t want anymore medication that will “ease my pain” or “make the jiggling go away.” It doesn’t, and it won’t.

    And I’m happy that the lady at church had good results with electroshock. I have no idea who she is or why she would tell everyone at church. Best of wishes.

  41. And if my life has been one psychological experiment (and that is all it will ever be), then please let me die. I have a right as a woman to decide what goes into my body. No one else has that right of master over me.

    I recently found out that my mother has been reporting on me since my teenage years. That’s all she has been doing all this time is reporting on me! Why doesn’t someone report on her and her friends? I NEVER did drugs. I NEVER smoked. (She does.) I NEVER had sex. I was labeled bipolar because I was really really upset after school after being called “bubble butt” and fat in junior high school. One year I didn’t eat lunch. Another year a girl sat with me at lunch and made fun of anything she could—clothes, hair, lunch. So I was bipolar? Some people do not survive the death camps. That’s just the way it is. It’s not fair. Life is not fair. It doesn’t feel just. It’s just one bully after another.

    Even my fiance didn’t believe in me. Now, he finally admits that I probably (note “probably) didn’t intend any harm to anyone. Who? I will never know. And it just reinforces what I thought when I first started my posts on this blog–the first blog I’ve ever done.

    Why did my mother accuse me of causing her “divorce”? She is still married. My father comes home from work every day. Forgive me for trying to find out the meaning of her utterances. In my mind, she is speaking for another woman. Who? I have no idea.

    And what happened in Pittsburgh? Now I am curious.

    Please let me die. That’s my last wish. If there is a fairy Godmother out there, please here my cries. Let the dead rest in peace.

    I don’t believe America should medicate its youth or medicate people without their knowledge and consent.

    I also wish I could know the truth about the past before I die.

    Thank you to anyone who was trying to help me. That was a beautiful thing to do.

  42. And no. I did not sleep with the baseball team (from NY Times article). Nor did I sleep with anyone’s son or husband. But no one will believe me now because of the “facts.” And I have never been to NYC either.

  43. So the ball is in your court folks. I have no idea where the implant is located or how (or even who) did this to me. But I understand now. You do NOT have the right to give me antidepressants, antipsychotics, or hormones, or anything else without my consent. I want the implant removed and deactivated.

    I am sick of being a victim. Stop.

    My life was linked to another, so that when she felt pain they would ,make sure that I felt the same pain. But I had no idea who she (or he) was. So I could not help her and help myself. All I could do was wait until the next torture session.

    I was supposed to follow the scientific path to church, but it didn’t work out the way the scientists had hoped. So I was punished. (Obviously, I have no evidence supporting this hypothesis.) I was told to forget about my first talent. I worked toward another in college. I was not allowed to change majors. At the end, I was told I would be washing dishware the rest of my life if I stayed in the field. Chemical dishwasher or just plain dishwasher? Well I would rather wash dishes at a restaurant than wash dishes in some chemical plant or lab. I had to switch to another field. Surprise. The same thing happened the last year of school. Someone told me I wouldn’t make it in the field. (after 8 years this was very crushing moment.) But he was right, I only lasted 4 years before I had a nervous breakdown after some idiots making fun of my upcoming marriage drove me to quit my job. Then my fiance made fun and I started back on the cymbalta at his request. And it almost killed me. I believe if I had continued on it for two more days I would never have survived. Not only did Eli Lilly not care. No one cares. I had a serious reaction to Band Aids and I tried twice to contact Johnson and Johnson and they did NOT care either. Why would I want to work for an employer who didn’t care about my chemical burn? Or stacks the deck against victimized (yes) women? You told me the story people. I had no idea what was going on at the time.

    And shame on you for watching me. Shame on you. No one had my permission to record me. No one. And I certainly did not know at the time. Nothing will be done to help the victim in this case, because I have no evidence. But SHAME on you.

    And I am bipolar?

Leave a Reply

