Fun in a Wheelchair

Yesterday was The Big Day. We went to the Point Defiance Zoo and Aquarium, and I used a wheelchair for the first time. I rode between the exhibits, and got out of the chair to see the animals and feed the goats. As far as other people’s reactions, well, nothing happened. There might have been some nasty looks, but I wouldn’t know. Everyone was right-I was much too excited to notice.

I want to share some of my fun. My two favorites:

It’s so great to get out of the apartment! I was petting Bumble this morning and couldn’t figure out what was wrong with my hands. My usual pasty hue was gone, and they had turned a stunning shade of brown. I was wondering if the color change was a side effect of the inflammatory problems I have, when I had a shocking realization:

I GOT SOME SUN! It really has been a long time since I’ve been out. :D

25 responses to “Fun in a Wheelchair

  1. Good for you! A perfect example of the social model of disability at work. We have may have medical problems but we only have disabilities when barriers (be they actual physical obstructions like a building not being wheelchair accessible or prejudice and social exclusion) prevent us from living the lives we want to lead. Remove the barriers and the disability disappears.

  2. Those goats are so cute! I love goats, especially that kind (sorta little?)…

  3. So pleased to read this – well done! Welcome to the wheelie club. You can use your membership as you choose, come and go as is appropriate for you. :-)

  4. Fabulous, so gladfor you it was a great day out – many more to come, I hope, when you want. Sea horses are the best aren’t they – they have even been spotted (!) off the Dorset coast.

  5. I am happy to read you enjoyed your day out. It’s all that counts, isn’t it? The sea horses are lovely!

  6. RenegadeEvolution

    I’m glad you had a great day out, and the sea horse photo is lovely!

  7. I’m so glad you enjoyed your outing! I just wanted to say thank you for the lovely picture of the seahorses.

  8. Yay! I’ve been wanting to go there too. I’m so glad you had a fun day – and it was sunny, bonus!

  9. Ah SE I’m really pleased that you had your day out and I hope that now you have over come the initial hurdle – you may have some more planned? :-)

  10. Awesome! Glad you had fun!

  11. OT, just wanted to let you know I found a reward for you Spotted Elephant, for finishing the assignment even before it was assigned. Go check my blog, please!

  12. Yay for you!!! i’m so happy for you!

  13. F*cking brilliant!! Well done you. (sorry for lowering the tone!)

  14. Good for you for getting out. Glad it was a nice outing.

  15. Wow, I love those seahorses.

    I’m glad you had a great time! Its always nice to get out of the house, especially on those sunny days (its a sunny day in London today, yay)!

    Double yay! :-D

  16. I’m glad you had a great day outside! And it’s spring, too… perfect timing!

  17. I’ve been enjoying your comments and just realized I hadn’t responded to anyone! So in a nutshell: thanks to everyone for your kind words, I like little goats too, love seahorses, I don’t have the next outing planned, but will definitely be going out more, and cussing doesn’t lower the tone. ;)

  18. I am so happy you got out and had a good time. I love those seahorses!

  19. AW! So glad you had a nice day, SE.
    Animals always seem to help, don’t they :) ?

  20. Yay!! So glad you had a good day out.

  21. This is very late, but I’m so sorry I missed this post. It was the week before I moved out so it slipped through, but I was looking back on your posts today and found it. Naturally, I love the seahorses :-) but I love that you got out even more, and did it somewhere lovely, like I did. And that you were there to share my own first wheelie experience a few weeks later. Thank you.

  22. Hi seahorse! I’m so glad to see you comment on this post, as I did enjoy your report of your outing very much. It’s just amazing, isn’t it?!

  23. It is indeed liberation, and the excitement does cause a welcome distraction from dreamed up reactions. Most of the people I have met so far out and about have been fine.

Leave a Reply

